JARED POLIS GOVERNOR



136 STATE CAPITOL Denver, Colorado 80203

> Tel 303-866-2471 Fax 303-866-2003

D 2020 304

EXECUTIVE ORDER

Proclamation Declaration of Vote on Proposition 118 - Paid Family and Medical Leave Insurance Program

Pursuant to the authority vested in the Governor of the State of Colorado, and, in particular, pursuant to Article V, Section 1(4)(a) of the Colorado Constitution, I, Jared Polis, Governor of the State of Colorado, hereby issue this proclamation declaring the vote on Proposition 118.

I. <u>Background and Purpose</u>

Proposition 118 was referred to the people of the state at the biennial regular election held on November 3, 2020. Secretary of State Jena Griswold certified on December 11, 2020 that she had canvassed the "Abstract of Votes Cast," and that the measure was approved by a majority of the votes cast.

Pursuant to Article V, Section 1(4)(a) of the Colorado Constitution, measures in initiated or referred to the people of the state shall become law or part of the constitution when approved by a majority of the votes cast, and shall take effect from and after the date of the official declaration of the vote by proclamation of the governor, but not later than thirty days after the vote has been canvassed.

II. <u>Declaration</u>

Accordingly, I hereby issue this proclamation declaring the vote of the following measure referred to the people on November 3, 2020:

Shall there be a change to the Colorado Revised Statutes concerning the creation of a paid family and medical leave program in Colorado, and, in connection therewith, authorizing paid family and medical leave for a covered employee who has a serious health condition, is caring for a new child or for a family member with a serious health condition, or has a need for leave related to a family member's military deployment or for safe leave; establishing a maximum of 12 weeks of family and medical leave, with an additional 4 weeks for pregnancy or childbirth complications, with a cap on the weekly benefit amount; requiring job protection for and prohibiting retaliation against an employee who takes paid family and medical leave; allowing a local government to opt out of the program; permitting employees of such a local government and self-employed

individuals to participate in the program; exempting employers who offer an approved private paid family and medical leave plan; to pay for the program, requiring a premium of 0.9% of each employee's wages, up to a cap, through December 31, 2024, and as set thereafter, up to 1.2% of each employee's wages, by the director of the division of family and medical leave insurance; authorizing an employer to deduct up to 50% of the

premium amount from an employee's wages and requiring the employer to pay the remainder of the premium, with an exemption for employers with fewer than 10 employees; creating the division of family and medical leave insurance as an enterprise within the department of labor and employment to administer the program; and establishing an enforcement and appeals process for retaliation and denied claims?

Yes – 1,804,546 (57.75 percent) No – 1,320,386 (42.25 percent)



GIVEN under my hand and the Executive Seal of the State of Colorado, this thirtyfirst day of December, 2020.

Jared Polis Governor